What Everyone Said

Everyone says that confidence is something to be admired. They say its great to be who you are. That having high-self esteem in life will get you ever so far.

Everyone says they’re drawn to the one who commands attention when he walks into the room. The man brimming over with confidence is the one who makes ladies swoon.

Everyone says that you shouldn’t be shy but instead be fun and outgoing. That once you take that initial step your confidence will soon begin growing.

Everyone said I should be the life of the party, so that’s who I decided to be. I talked and laughed for hours on end, but only blank stares looked back at me.

Everyone said being quiet wasn’t good, but they hadn’t liked it when I tried to be entertaining. They called me an attention hog; on their parade I was raining.

Everyone said I was far to loud, so more quiet I tried to be. They then called me antisocial. More friends I needed to see.

Everyone said I didn’t make sense, but it was they who had twisted my thoughts. Into their distorted views and ways of living I had willingly bought.

Everyone said I shouldn’t but I did. I said,  “Just never you mind. Society no longer determines my personality or how I’m defined.”

What everyone said that day sometimes replays in my head. The time I decided to be someone else because of what everyone said.

“Perhaps it’s impossible to wear an identity without becoming what you pretend to be.”

― Orson Scott Card, Ender’s Game

(http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/03/27/prompt-the-great-pretender/)

 

<meta name=”google-site-verification” content=”OK-aq-wjrjZy5EDyQTWJ5krTQvQZM1ltuULsOVoLgGk” />

 

12 thoughts on “What Everyone Said

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: The Great Pretender | 2l2phant

  2. Pingback: Is The Glass Half Empty or Half Full? | melissuhhsmiles

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: The Great Pretender | My Atheist Blog

  4. Pingback: B.Kaotic

  5. Pingback: Fake It ‘Til You Make It | 365 Days of Thank You

  6. Pingback: Daily prompt – Confidence | The Wandering Poet

  7. Pingback: The Pretender | Burgess Taylor

  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt: The Great Pretender | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  9. Pingback: Here I Come | Views Splash!

  10. Pingback: Daily Prompt: The Great Pretender | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  11. Everyone said I didn’t make sense, but it was they who had twisted my thoughts. Into their distorted views and ways of living I had willingly bought. (I did this as a teenager and regret to this day. Why couldn’t I just be me)

    Everyone said I shouldn’t but I did. I said, “Just never you mind. Society no longer determines my personality or how I’m defined.” (It took me too long to understand this. A lot of pain to finally get to this point.)

    This is a great read!! You write well and sound like you are a very mature young lady.

Leave a Reply

