Seconds

“Daddy, I never wanna grow up. I wanna be your little girl forever!”

The first time I told my dad I wanted to be his little girl forever, I was six years old and full of questions concerning adult life.

“How do you get a drivers license Daddy? Do people leave their mom’s and dad’s when they grow up? How old do you have to be to get married?”

Despite my curiosity, there was one thing I didn’t want to change- the relationship I had with the people I cared about. I have five siblings, the oldest of whom is eleven and the youngest, who is two. Since I’m home schooled, I spend a great deal of time with my siblings and we are all very close. I imagine watching my siblings grow up is something like watching your own children mature. One day I’ll come home from work to find that the baby who was two just yesterday, is now sixteen, and going on her first date. I’ll find the colossal lego cities have been replaced with real house designs of my brothers who have become architects and house builders. My seven years old sisters prized baby dolls will have been replaced with real children of her own. Life goes on. It’s heartbreaking and wonderful.

Some people might think my life has not even begun yet. Some people might say I still have many years to live before I can say I’ve experienced a “full” life. I do not believe age determines how “full” someones life is.  I believe the person who has experienced laughter, love and joy, is someone who has experienced life to the full. If there’s anything I’ve come to realize in my short fourteen years, it’s that life is not about the length of time you spend on this planet; it’s about the people you spend it with. So go tell your family and your friends how much you love and appreciate them. The clock is ticking; Make every second count.

“That’s the worst of growing up, and I’m beginning to realize it. The things you wanted so much when you were a child don’t seem half so wonderful to you when you get them.”

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/03/22/prompt-young/

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/01/30/daily-prompt-age/

16 thoughts on “Seconds

  1. Pingback: The Click-Over | jigokucho

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Young At Heart | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  3. Pingback: Daily prompt: Age | The Wandering Poet

  4. Pingback: How To Be Young Again | The Moon Head

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Young At Heart | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Young At Heart | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  7. Pingback: Young at heart: The Ballad of the Fifty Something Rebel. Daily Prompt! | ALIEN AURA'S BlOG: IT'LL BLOW YOUR MIND!

  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Young At Heart | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  9. Pingback: Responsibly Immature | The Ravenously Disappearing Woman

  10. Pingback: Fountain of Youth Lies in the Silly | The Shotgun Girls

  11. Pingback: Aging Is A Blessing | B.Kaotic

  12. Pingback: A Blog for Laura Lee

  13. Pingback: Young At Heart | Alexia Jones

  14. It sounds like you will have a very full life with the understanding you have at this age. You are so right, treasure your family and your life, always. Don’t have all the regrets some of us do.

  15. I am very impressed with this article you wrote at only 14, Tory. And it’s true. When you are young, as I am at 18, people tell you you’re just starting out on life, that you won’t live it to the full till you’re married, with kids, a job, responsibilities, problems…etc, etc. And, in a certain sense, they are basically telling you that you don’t know what life is. In their point of view, course. Because like you said, we live life fully when we know what love is, what laughter is, and what friendship and family is. Life happens when you live each day enjoying what you have, what you’re working toward, and who you have in your life.

Leave a Reply

